top of page


Freedom Township was established in 1825 in the Northwest corner of Portage County, Ohio. Originally included in Hiram Township, it is bordered by the townships of Shalersville, Hiram, Windham, Charlestown and a tiny portion of the village of Garrettsville. Freedom Township is served by the James A Garfield School District, three different telephone exchanges and the Post Offices of Hiram, Garrettsville, Mantua, Ravenna, and Windham.

james a garfield school.png
bottom of page